Senior Summer: So You Didn’t Get That Internship, Now What?

A M Montgomery 2014

A M Montgomery 2014

What has two thumbs, no summer job prospects, and a much needed break? This girl!

I apologize for the delay in posting (though in my defense I have been updating my other blog). Since I’m now covering the majority of my expenses (everything except tuition and part of room and board), it’s been difficult to juggle class, work, sleep, and free time. I hoped to gain some paid experience this summer and applied to over fifty internships and jobs. Some I made it into the first round of interviews, but nothing after that. Long story short, I didn’t get a single internship I applied for. So what do I do now?

Good news: The amount of money I hoped to earn is taken care of through some prizes I won (see here).

Bad news: Even if I didn’t have my little brother to baby-sit some days, I still need to do something, not only for my resume but also for me (I’m that kid who assigned herself workbook pages during the summers).

So what should I do this summer? If you search in any search engine, the results are always articles that say you should “get an internship,” “get a job,” or “volunteer” (I kid you not) as well as some other options you may not be able to afford like traveling, exploring, and paying for additional courses. Well, if I actually had those options, I wouldn’t exactly be searching for something to do on Google, now would I? It’s the same thing in the results year after year…

Because I start my senior year in the fall, this is my last official free summer. I have a few ideas, but stay tuned this summer to find out exactly what they are.

Leave a Reply

